Counter-Summit to the European Gas Conference

The year 2023 writes history as the hottest year on record. CO2-Emissions are at an all-time high; war and neo-colonial exploitation are ever increasing. Our world is calling for collective and emancipatory responses to the crises and politics, that affect all our lives. Right now, it’s not the many, let alone all of us, that are making the strategic decisions for future pathways. Continuously it is the corporations, the investors and the politicians that get together without participation of those affected – their goals: profit-maximisation and ever-increasing their power.

In March of 2024, at the European Gas Conference, these actors get together again in Vienna, to negotiate and decide the future of European energy supply – invited by the Austrian oil and gas corporation OMV. In 2023 this conference was dragged out from behind the curtain and into the public eye for the first time by a variety of diverse actions and our counter conference. At the first counter-summit 2023 we discussed and envisioned alternatives to fossil capitalism – represented by events such as the European Gas Conference. Our resistance will be as loud, if not louder in 2024:

The People's Summit against EGC is taking place from March 22nd to March 24th in Vienna.

We want just and equitable energy supply and decision-making processes, that are in the hands of the many. We want socialisations, a rapid and just phase out from fossil fuels and the end of wars. We want a good and affordable life for all.

All of this is possible! There are plenty of ideas, concepts and lived utopias, that show us what a different world can look like. And this is exactly what we will share and discuss amongst all of us from March 22nd until 24th. We invite all, who strive for a just and emancipatory world in solidarity.

The following themes will be in the center of our counter-summit:

  • Democracy, socialisation & practices of solidarity
  • Extractivism, neocolonial energy politics & global solidarity
  • Authoritarian regimes, right-wing politics & energy crises

Let's develop counter-strategies and strengthen our movements! We are thrilled by the numerous contributions we have received again this year. We can promise you: In 2024, you can also expect a wide range of formats to deal with the above-mentioned topics. In addition to panel discussions, workshops and lectures, there will also be spaces for creative and open exchange, artistic performances, cultural programmes and musical contributions.

The program will be published here on our website in the coming weeks and we will reveal the locations in Vienna where the conference will take place.

Participation Fee & Donations

Participation in the People's Summit is generally free of charge. However, such an event incurs many costs (travel expenses for the speakers, rooms, technical equipment, interpretation etc.) and we would be pleased to receive your contributions to support this.

Suggested donation for participation in the counter-summit program: €10.00 to €50.00 per day.

Bank details for donations:
System Change not Climate Change
IBAN: AT32 3412 9000 0023 4757
Purpose: People's Summit 2024

Hosts

Funded by

EN

Gegengipfel zur European Gas Conference

Das Jahr 2023 geht als das bisher heißeste in die Messgeschichte ein. CO2-Emissionen sind auf einem Rekordhoch; Kriege und neokoloniale Ausbeutung weiten sich aus. Die Welt schreit nach kollektiven und emanzipatorischen Antworten auf die Krisen und Politiken, die sich auf unser aller Leben auswirken. Es sind aber nicht die Vielen, die strategische Richtungsentscheidungen treffen. Weiterhin sind es Unternehmen, Finanzinstitute und Politiker*innen, die ohne Beteiligung und Mitsprache der Betroffenen zusammenkommen – ihre Ziele: Profitmaximierung und Machtausbau.

Im März 2024, auf der European Gas Conference, kommen genau diese Akteur*innen wieder in Wien zusammen, um über die Zukunft der europäischen Energieversorgung zu verhandeln – eingeladen vom österreichischen Öl- und Gaskonzern OMV. Im Jahr 2023 wurde diese Konferenz durch eine Vielzahl von Aktionen und unseren Gegengipfel erstmalig in die Öffentlichkeit gezerrt. Auf der ersten Gegenkonferenz 2023 haben wir Alternativen zum fossilen Kapitalismus – für den die European Gas Conference steht – und seinen Folgen aufgezeigt. Und auch 2024 wird unser Widerstand kein wenig leiser sein:

Vom 22. bis 24. März findet der People’s Summit against EGC 2024 in Wien statt.

Wir wollen eine gerechte Energieversorgung und Entscheidungsprozesse, die in den Händen der Vielen liegen. Wir wollen Vergesellschaftungen, den klimagerechten Ausstieg aus Fossilen und das Ende von Kriegen. Wir wollen ein gutes und leistbares Leben für alle.

All das ist möglich! Es gibt genügend Ideen, Konzepte und gelebte Praktiken, wie eine andere Welt aussehen kann. Genau darüber werden wir uns vom 22. bis 24. März austauschen und diskutieren. Wir laden alle dazu ein, deren Ziel eine solidarische, gerechte und emanzipatorische Welt ist.

Die folgenden Themenbereiche werden unseren Austausch anleiten:

  • Demokratie, Vergesellschaftung & solidarische Praxen
  • Extraktivismus, neokoloniale Energiepolitik & globale Solidarität
  • Autoritäre Regime, rechte Politik & Energiekrise

Lasst uns Gegenstrategien entwickeln und unsere Bewegungen stärken! Wir freuen uns über die zahlreichen Beiträge, die uns auch dieses Jahr wieder erreicht haben. Wir können euch versprechen: Auch 2024 erwarten euch vielfältige Formate, um sich mit den oben genannten Themen auseinanderzusetzen. Neben Podiumsdiskussionen, Workshops und Vorträgen wird es auch Räume für kreativen und offenen Austausch, künstlerische Performances, Kulturprogramm und Musikbeiträge geben.

Das Programm wird in den nächsten Wochen hier auf unserer Website veröffentlicht und wir werden verraten, an welchen Orten in Wien die Konferenz stattfindet.

Teilnahmebeitrag & Spenden

Die Teilnahme am People’s Summit ist grundsätzlich kostenlos möglich. Es fallen bei einer solchen Veranstaltung jedoch viele Kosten (Reisekosten der Referent*innen, Räume, Technik, Dolmetschung etc.) an und wir freuen uns über eure Beiträge zur Unterstützung.

Spendenvorschlag für die Teilnahme am Gegengipfelprogramm: 10,00 bis 50,00 € pro Tag.

SPENDENKONTO:
System Change not Climate Change
IBAN: AT32 3412 9000 0023 4757
Verwendungszweck: People’s Summit 2024

Demo am 27. März in Wien

Demo STOPPT DIE GASLOBBY! 27.3.24 in Wien – Start um 17 Uhr

Gemeinsam gegen die Gaslobby und für eine Energiewende von unten demonstrieren!

Packt am Mittwoch, 27.3., eure Kochtöpfe, Kochdeckel und Kochlöffel ein und kommt zur Demo gegen die Europäische Gaskonferenz!

Veranstalter*innen

Gefördert von

DE